That’s a mouthful, isn’t it? Those crazy Belgians! LOL. McChouffe is one of the stranger beers I’ve bought lately. It is a Scotch ale brewed in Belgium using traditional ingredients from both styles. Wow! I had high hopes for this beer, particularly after hearing about it on Craft Beer Radio, but I think I had a bad sample. heavy on the aroma and flavor both was a green apple character, which is not uncommon when acetylaldehyde is present in the bottle. It can mean an unclean bottle or oxidation. I can definitely get a little bit of the peatiness found in some Scotch ales, but the overwhelming flavor is green apples. Oh well, better luck next time. Didn’t keep me from drinking all 750 mL, but next time I drink that much green apple flavored stuff I’d prefer it was just apple cider.

