I don’t know where I got these, but I had three of these A-B Beach Bum seasonal beers in my fridge, so I thought I’d give it a try before my workout! Yes, there are many, many things wrong with that opening sentence. Anyway, it pours a clear, darker yellow color than a regular A-B offering, with a big foamy, chunky head and lots of big bubbles clinging to the side of the glass.

The aroma is pure metal. I used to grind a lot of steel for a hobby and this is the smell that would be stuck in my nose for hours afterward. I don’t know if something bad happened to this beer, like oxidation, or what, but it smells like a pile of metal dust.

The metal flavor is there a little in the flavor, but more in the aftertaste and in the aroma. The flavor is like a pilsner, and may not be half bad, but that metal just killed it for me.

