new-glarus-spotted-cow-2519

I had no idea what to expect from New Glarus’s Spotted Cow “cask conditioned ale” when I picked up a bottle in Wisconsin last month, but I was pleasantly surprised by this tasty little beer. According to New Glarus’s website, Spotted Cow is an homage to traditional cask conditioned ales, with an ABV of only 4.8% and a “fun, fruity and satisfying” flavor profile.

I got no aroma from this beer, but again, I was drinking in little white plastic hotel cups, and I had a bit of a cold, so who knows? The beer is made from Wisconsin-grown barley, malt and even corn, and the flavor profile was definitely sweet with really no hint of hops at all. Despite this lack of hops and bitterness, and even though Spotted Cow tasted sweet to me, it wasn’t cloying or overpowering like a doppelbock usually is to me. I really enjoyed this beer and I think it’d make a great session beer.

The flavor was sweet, kind of fruity, but hard to nail down exactly what kind of fruit. It had a nice, heavy, creamy mouthfeel with low carbonation, so it was really smooth and easy to drink. Between the sweetness and the mouthfeel I almost felt like I was drinking milk! I thoroughly enjoyed Spotted Cow and wish we had it here locally for a nice session beer alternative to our own locally grown Wheat!

