Yes, it has finally happened… I’m doing a review of a froo-froo “martini” cocktail drink. Why? Well, because I drank it. Why not? For the holidays, my sister wanted us to each come up with a fun drink to share. I would’ve done my über-classic Old Fashioned, but when it comes to rye whiskey, a bit of orange peel, a squirt of simple syrup, and a dash of bitters (no cherries, orange slices, muddling or soda water for this classic cocktail), not everyone is a fan. So, to appeal to my sister and the rest of the family who would be drinking, I thought this Candy Can Swirl Martini would be a fun drink.

I found the recipe at What to Drink and it isn’t too bad, really, although it’s hardly a session drink due to the sweetness. It’s 3 oz of cranberry juice, 1 oz of raspberry vodka (I used Smirnoff and it was tasty), 0.5 oz each of Rose’s grenadine and peppermint schnapps. All of it goes with ice into a shaker, then pour into martini glass. Top with lemon-lime soda.

I crushed a bunch of candy canes to rim the glasses as the recipe called for, but no one wanted to go through the trouble, so we ditched that part.

The mint is pretty strong on the drink, and the coolness of the mint as well as the slight astringency of the cranberry does lend a little balance to the raspberry vodka and grenadine, so this isn’t tooth-painfully sweet like you might think, but one or two of these is plenty. Not a bad flavor combination, as the fruit and mint seem to complement one another, but again, these types of froo-froo drinks have never been too high on my list.

