Photo courtesy of theperfectlyhappyman.com

Sometimes my life is pretty darn good. Right now I’m typing this blog from my hotel room at the Waldorf-Astoria La Quinta Resort  outside of Palm Springs, CA, where I am enjoying my nice in-room fireplace (takes a little chill out of the desert air) in my poolside casita. Reality will return when I spend all day Sunday in the airport, getting home around 1Am and working all day Monday, but for now I get to enjoy a little slice of high living! 🙂

I just happened to spot a little hole-in-the-wall liquor store on my way out of Palm Springs and I stopped to see if they had anything good. For the ridiculous price of $24 I am now the proud owner of one bomber each of Alesmith X, Ballast Point IPA and Lagunitas IPA. Sheesh!

I chose the Lagunitas for a nightcap, and it’s great! I was expecting a hop bomb because the guys at Lagunitas certainly don’t mess around when it comes to hops, but to my  surprise it is very nicely balanced and the hops are quite restrained, especially for a West Coast IPA.

My bomber poured a clear gold with little to no head. The aroma is malty with a little citrus tone, and the flavor is a wonderfully balanced malt with resiny hops flavors. This is a great IPA and it’s not just the pool and fireplace coloring my impressions! 🙂

