Well, I haven’t posted in over a year, so I doubt anyone is still reading, but if you are, then hello! I’ve been doing the good eating/living/exercise thing for about 15 months now and my beer consumption has diminished to almost nothing. I think I’ve had four beers in the last 6 months, and all of those were in this last month, actually. Maintaining gluten-free/almost-free is an easy way for me to cut out empty calories because if you put me in front of bread, cookies, etc, there just isn’t any stopping.

Anyway, so I’ve been on a major coffee kick even more so than usual to fill the empty void beer has left in my life. LOL

My last post was about coffee from Oddly Correct and a lot has happened in Kansas City since. I’m WAY behind on knowing what’s going on because I have been roasting my own coffee at home and prior to that I was hooked on Oddly Correct beans. I’m on a two-week break right now so I will be posting some field trip reports soon.

The Quay has opened in the River Market, using Oddly Correct beans. There’s PT’s in the Crossroads and I know some magazine recently declared it was one of the top ten roasters in the country. Also there’s Second Best Coffee in Waldo, which has their own custom Slayer espresso machine. The Slayer is supposed to be the holy grail of espresso machines, so I’m most looking forward to that.

As for my own adventures, I’ve been doing the air popcorn popper roasting method and LOVING it. I have thought about giving it a shot a few times over the years but figured, “Nah, it’s probably difficult or the coffee probably sucks or…” I don’t know what prompted me to look into it again about two months ago but I did and much to my surprise I found out the popcorn popper I’ve been using for YEARS is the much-loved West Bend Poppery 2, the holy grail of popcorn poppers! LOL I bought some green beans from Sweet Maria’s and gave it a shot. I was very surprised at the results. One “modification” I did make was I started plugging my machine into one of those super long orange extension cords to suck some of the power out of it. I was having trouble differentiating between first crack and second crack. Sweet Maria’s recommends most of their beans be roasted somewhere between first crack and the beginning of second crack, so extending that time period in between has worked out well for me.

I can d0 100 grams of beans at a time (a little over 1/2 cup) and that takes about 6-7 minutes. Once roasted almost every batch I do comes out to 86-87 grams, so you lose about 15% in water and chaff coming off the beans. I haven’t had a bad batch yet and I am happy enough with the results that I have completely stopped buying coffee from anyone else.

Do I get the grape jelly Ethiopians like Oddly Correct does? No, not quite, as you can’t ramp up and hold temperatures and etc to develop flavors, but it is DAMN GOOD coffee and greens beans are about $6-$8/pound which is way cheaper. I’m happy!

 

